Since 2012 the David Makin Memorial Award recognizes members who have provided outstanding contributions to the well-being of the collective that forms the BMW Motorcycle Club of Ottawa. 

David was a founding member of our club and tireless in his generosity to help others specifically with is encyclopedic knowledge of everything about BMW motorcycles. He was also a person ready to lend a hand to a new comer to the sport providing generous and timely advice and guidance.

The award is named after him in order to keep his memory and spirit alive for future generations of Club members.

Recipients to date of the David Makin Memorial Award for outstanding contribution to the BMW Motorcycle Club of Ottawa.

  • Michel Dozois
  • Raymond Pelletier
  • Jill Martin & Lori Reith
  • Don Dobson
  • Roger E. Briggs
  • John Racine
  • André Larivière